NTHS Members Named as Presidential Scholar Semifinalists!

Jeff Parcell 2018-04-20


Congratulations to our NTHS members who were named semifinalists for one of the nation’s highest honors of being named a Presidential Scholar! Here’s to hoping that each one of you makes it through to the final round!

Davornne Lindo
Central High School
Phenix City, Alabama

Laila Mirza
Stephen Decatur High School
Ocean Pines, Maryland

Mikal Goodman
Arts and Technology of Pontiac
Pontiac, MI

Savanna Scott
LaGrange High School
LaGrange, GA

Hannah Golik
Carson High School
Carson City, NV

Shawn Monahan, Jr.
Canton McKinley Sr High School
Canton, OH

Daniel Wood
Stratford High School
Moncks Corner, SC

From the U.S. Department of Education’s website:

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields. Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students.

To read more about this incredible honor, click here.